Latest News

Ortom  Drops Commissioners From Cabinet, Sends 8 Nominees To Assembly For Screening


Benue State Governor, Samuel Ortom has partially dissolved the State Executive Council. He has also forwarded names of eight commissioner new nominees to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.


The dissolution took place Tuesday, 4fh January, 2022 via a letter titled: “Partial Dissolution of the Benue State Executive Council,” a copy of which was released to the press.


According to the letter, Commissioners for Agriculture and Natural Resources as well as that of Commerce and Cooperatives, Dr Timothy Ijir and Barr Merga Kachina respectively were dropped while eight commissioners retained their positions.


Commissioners who were retained are Hon David Olofu, Finance; Barrister Michael Gusa, Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice; Engr Victor Ukaha, Rural Development and Cooperatives, Tabitha Igirgi, Women Affairs; Chief Ekpe Ogbu, Housing and Urban Development; Bernard Unenge, Lands Survey and Solid Minerals, Dr Emmanuel Oyiwona and Dr Joseph Ngbea, Commissioner for Health and Human Services.


Commissioner nominees whose names were forwarded to the State Assembly for screening and confirmation include Terna Kester Kyenge from Logo, Engr Uungwa Sachia Jude from Gwer West and Barrister Agbatar Rodney Williams from Vandeikya.


Others are Hon Michael Umoru Inalegwu from Agatu, Agber Benjamin Aernan from Buruku and Dr Jane Ogoma Aja from Obi.


Also nominated for screening and confirmation include Hon Sarwuan Tarnongo from Konshisha and Barrister Teryima Nguher from Ukum.


The Governor who expressed profound appreciation to the outgoing commissioners and wished them well in their future endeavors, urged them to hand over to their respective permanent secretaries immediately.

Related Articles

Back to top button
WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner